DMK wins 13 TN Assembly bypolls, AIADMK 9  |   Raveendranath wins Theni LS  |   Son of TN Deputy CM OPS, Raveendranath, registers sole victory for ADMK-BJP front  |   AIADMK wins Nilakottai Assembly bypoll by over 20,000 votes  |   DMK wins Harur Assembly bypoll by over 10,000 votes  |   DMK wins Poonamallee Assembly byelection by over 60,000 votes  |   DMK candidate R D Sekhar wins Perambur Assembly bypoll  |   Congress candidate Dr K Jayakumar wins Thiruvallur (SC) Lok Sabha seat by over 3.56 lakh votes  |   Nagarajan wins Manamadurai seat for AIADMK in Assembly bypoll  |   Karti Chidambaram wins Sivaganga LS seat for Congress, DMK candidate Ramesh from Cuddalore  |   DMK candidate S R Parthiban wins Salem LS seat  |   CPM candidate S Venkatesan wins Madurai LS constituency in Tamil Nadu  |   Vasantha Kumar of Congress wins Kanniyakumari LS seat, defeating Union minister Pon Radhakrishnan of BJP  |   Puducherry Speaker V Vaithilingam leads in LS poll, DMK in Thattanchavady Assembly bypoll  |  

Jayalalithaa launches works for Metro Rail extension in Chennai

Updated by admin on Saturday, July 23, 2016 01:42 PM IST

Chennai: Tamil Nadu chief Minister J Jayalalithaa launched work on the 9km phase I extension of Chennai Metro Rail -- from Washermenpet to
Wimco Nagar in Chennai on Saturday, July 23, 2016. The scheme will cost Rs 3,770 crore.

Union Minister Venkaiah Naidu, who was also present at the function, said the Centre was committed to help the developmental
projects of the State as Prime Minister Narendra Modi was also anxious that States like Tamil Nadu, which were key to economic
growth, should be supported.

The chief minister launched the construction work at a function at Shri Babu Jagjeevan Ram Sports Complex, Tondiarpet.

Preliminary work for tunnel boring will subsequently begin. The nine-kilometer extension line planned at a cost of Rs 3,770 crore will
connect far-flung neighbourhoods with the heart of the city. The project is scheduled to be completed by March 2018.

The extension line will have eight stations, including a 2km tunnel covering two underground stations at Sir Theagaraya College and
Korukkupet, and the rest of the stretch will be elevated corridors with six stations.

The central government approved the proposal for the project in June 2016. The Centre will provide Rs 713 crore for the project.
The state will contribute Rs 916 crore, and the balance amount of Rs 2,141 crores will be met through loans.

CMRL floated tenders for constructing the underground stretch in December 2015. Preliminary work to acquire lands also began
around the same time. Officials began notifying residents and institutions about land acquisition plans. They wanted to keep all
formalities ready to issue work orders for the underground line as soon as the project gets its final clearance from the Centre.

Jayalalithaa said some of the stations in the new route would come in her constituency, Dr R K Nagar in Chennai.

She thanked Naidu for attending the function and also being a pillar of support to the State's demands at the Centre.

Tamil Nadu ministers, AIADMK MPs and MLAs attended the function.


comments powered by Disqus


  • Kadir Srishti Dange in Sathru stills

  • Vijay Sethupathy stills

  • Trisha stills

  • Aruva Sandai stills

  • Actress Aishwarya Dutta Stills

  • KOOTHAN movie pooja

  • Munnodi movie Stills

  • Silanth 2 Movie Stills

  • Thanga Radham

  • URU first look poster


  • Gif and First Look of KEE Movie

  • Rajinikanth in Kaala first look

  • Nibunan Teaser

  • CBI raids Chidambaram residence in Chennai

  • Aarambamey Attakasam Official Trailer

  • Ajith in Vivegam teaser