DMK wins Thiruvarur Assembly byelection by over 64,000 votes

Updated by admin on Friday, May 24, 2019 08:19 AM IST

Chennai: DMK has won the Thiruvarur Assembly byelection in Tamil Nadu. Its candidate Kalaivanan Poondi K defeated his nearest rival of the AIADMK, R Jeevanantham, by 64,571 votes.

DMK secured 117,616 votes as against 53,045 votes of Jeevanantham.

Among others trailing were Kamaraj S (AMMK) 19,133, Arun Chidambaram K (MNM) 4,251and Vinothini R (NTK) 8,144.

The seat was held by DMK in 2016 by former chief minister and DMK chief M Karunanidhi with a margin of 68,366 votes.

22 Assembly constituencies are up for grabs in the by-elections in Tamil Nadu.


comments powered by Disqus


  • Kadir Srishti Dange in Sathru stills

  • Vijay Sethupathy stills

  • Trisha stills

  • Aruva Sandai stills

  • Actress Aishwarya Dutta Stills

  • KOOTHAN movie pooja

  • Munnodi movie Stills

  • Silanth 2 Movie Stills

  • Thanga Radham

  • URU first look poster


  • Gif and First Look of KEE Movie

  • Rajinikanth in Kaala first look

  • Nibunan Teaser

  • CBI raids Chidambaram residence in Chennai

  • Aarambamey Attakasam Official Trailer

  • Ajith in Vivegam teaser